Valid CPS reports will be considered for an Investigation Response when there are immediate child safety concerns and/or the type of report is required by the Code of Virginia to be investigated including, but not limited to:
- Hospitalization due to suspected abuse/neglect
- Injury due to use of weapons such as guns or knives
- Institutional abuse/neglect
- Physical abuse requiring medical evaluation and/or treatment
- Serious Injuries
- Sexual abuse
The purpose of the investigation is to:
- Determine if abuse/neglect occurred
- Identify the abuser/neglector
- Protect the child
- Provide service to prevent recurrence
Joint investigations with law enforcement and/or regulatory authorities, in accordance with local protocols, may occur.
Each CPS investigation results in a finding of Founded or Unfounded within 45-60 days of report. Founded reports are kept by local social services departments and the Virginia Department of Social Services Central Registry of Founded Child Abuse and Neglect for 3 to 18 years depending upon the severity of the incident.