Due Date for Tax Bills — Personal Property and Real
Estate Taxes are due June 25 and December 5*.
*Supplemental bills are due within 30 days of the bill
date.

All payments are processed and/or received in
the Treasurer’s Office — Payment Options
Online : E-check (no fees charged) or credit card
(service fee charged) options are available at
www.yorkcounty.gov/treasurer; select from “Online
Services”

By mail: Make check or money order payable to:
Treasurer, County of York

Mail to: Candice D. Kelley, Treasurer

P. O. Box 251, Yorktown VA 23690-0251

In person: Treasurer’s Office is located in the Finance
Building (adjacent to the Courthouse) at 120 Alexander
Hamilton Boulevard Yorktown, VA 23690

Drop box: Located on the outside of the Finance Building
(on the side facing Route 17)

** Please Note** Failure to receive a tax bill will not relieve
the penalty and interest charge that will be applied to all
past due bills, as required by the Code of Virginia. If you
do not receive your tax bill, please contact the Treasurer’s
Office at (757) 890-3420.

The penalty is calculated separately for each item. The
Treasurer is required by the Code of Virginia to collect
interest until payment in full is received.

Dog Licenses — Dogs four months and older must have
a lifetime dog license issued by the Treasurer’s Office for
$10.00 each effective November 1, 2018. A current
rabies certificate must be presented to obtain the license.
For more information, call the Treasurer’s Office (757)
890-3420. If you have 5 or more dogs, you are required to
apply for a kennel license. Contact Development Services
at (757) 890-3531 before applying for the kennel license.

State Income Tax Returns

Due May 1 - Virginia Income Tax Returns are due to be
filed on or before May 1 annually. The Commissioner of
the Revenue will review and process tax returns for
completeness and to ensure tax credits have been used
as applicable. Errors or omissions are detected and
corrected prior to the return being forwarded to the VA
Department of Taxation. For assistance or forms, call
(757) 890-3381.

Opening a New Business — New businesses must
apply for a license and pay the applicable business license
fee or tax with the Commissioner of the Revenue prior to
opening the business. If the business is a corporation, a
copy of the Certificate of Incorporation is required. If the
business has a trade name, they must register their trade
name with the Clerk of Circuit Court, (757) 890-3350. The
business must be approved by the Zoning Office

(757) 890-3523 prior to issuance of the license. For a
Building Permit or information on a Certificate of
Occupancy, contact Building Regulations (757) 890-3522.
See “Checkpoints for Starting a Business” on the web at
www.yorkcounty.gov/501/Checkpoints-for- Starting-a-
Business.

Business License Renewal

Due March 1 — Each business must annually renew their
business license and pay the applicable fee or tax on or
before March 1. Late filing and/or late payment penalty
and interest will be assessed. Failure to file and pay is a
violation of State and County Codes.

Schedule C - If you file a Federal Schedule C and do not
have a business license, you need to check with the
Commissioner’s office to ensure you are licensed (if
applicable) and compliant with the law.

Consumer Use/Excise Tax — The below taxes are trust
taxes collected by the business for York County, in
addition to the State Sales Tax. Failure for the business to
file and remit tax to the Commissioner of the Revenue
could be considered embezzlement and a Class 2
misdemeanor.

Meals Tax (Food & Beverage Tax) — A 4% meals tax

is charged at the time of service for food and beverage
served by a restaurant, caterer, or grocery/deli and is filed
and paid by the business monthly.

Lodging Tax (Room Tax) — A 5% lodging tax is charged
on rentals of hotel, motels, guest rooms, campgrounds
and other temporary lodging (no more than 30 days), and
is filed and paid by the business monthly.

Additional Transient Occupancy Tax ($2 Room Tax) -
An additional tax of $2.00 per night per room is charged
for overnight accommodations and is filed and paid by the
business monthly. This revenue is designated and
expended solely for advertising the Historic Triangle as an
overnight tourism destination.

Short-term Rental Tax — A 1% short-term rental tax is
charged on daily rental property and is filed and paid by
the business quarterly.

The Consumer Use/Excise Tax should be filed and paid
monthly online: www.yorkcounty.gov/475/Forms and
select the appropriate tax under E-Commissioner Online
Business Forms

Important Due Dates and Deadlines to Remember

Business License March 1
Tax Return of Business Tangible March 1
Personal Property

Tax Return for Manufactured (Mobile) March 1

Homes

Application for Relief for the Elderly
and Disabled for Real Estate and April 1
Mobile Home Tax

Application for Real Estate Tax

Relief for Disabled Veterans April 1
Virginia State Income Tax May 1
Estimated Tax Voucher 1 May 1
Estimated Tax Voucher 2 June 15
Personal Property and Real Estate

Tax — 1st Half June 25
Estimated Tax Voucher 3 Sept 15
Personal Property and Real Estate

Tax — 2nd Half Dec 5
Dog License Dec 31

Within 60 days
of purchase or
move into York
Co

Registration for New Residents/
Purchases/Replacements

Within 60 days
of disposal or
move out of
York Co

Notification of date disposed/sold/
junked/moved out of York Co.

Commissioner of the Revenue Telephone
Numbers:

(757) 890-3381 — Personal Property/State Income Tax
(757) 890-3382 — Real Estate
(757) 890-3383 — Business License
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Welcome to York County.

We think you made a good choice. This is a caring and
growing community. From the moment you step into the
County, you are provided with a wide range of services,
including Sheriff and law enforcement protection, fire and
rescue services, education for children and adults,
recreational services, parks, boat ramp facilities and
libraries. Local taxes pay for these services and are
assessed and collected as mandated in the State and
County Code.

What are the duties of the Commissioner of

the Revenue? The Commissioner of the Revenue is
responsible for ensuring assessments are made on all
property and businesses required by law. Taxpayers new
to York County may not be aware of their tax liabilities
and, as a result, this brochure was created to offer vital
information concerning tax requirements relevant to new
residents and new businesses.

What are the duties of the Treasurer? The
Treasurer is responsible for collecting and accounting

for all revenues received by York County. Taxpayers are
encouraged to visit the Commissioner of the Revenue and
the Treasurer online to manage transactions and/or to
submit online forms. It's simple, secure, and transactions
are handled in an efficient manner.

Tax Rates — Personal Property and Real Estate Tax rates
are set each year by the Board of Supervisors during the
first meeting held in the month of May.

Assessed Values — Personal Property and Business
Personal Property assessments are based on the value as
of January 1st of the tax year.

Annual Filing Forms for Manufactured (mobile)
Homes and Business Personal Property

File by March 1 — are mailed each year in January.
Failure to file by March 1st each year will result in a 10%
penalty ($10 minimum, not to exceed the amount of tax).

File By Exception — Motor vehicles, trailers,
semi-trailers, boats or watercraft which have no change in
situs or status shall not be required to file a Tax Return of
Tangible Personal Property on the same property in
subsequent years.

New Residents & New Vehicle Purchases — Motor
vehicles, trailers, semi-trailers, boats or watercraft must be
registered with the Commissioner of the Revenue within 60
days of move in or date of purchase. A copy of the Title,
State Registration or Bill of Sale must be provided.

Personal Property Sold, Junked or Moved Out of
York County — *IMPORTANT** — Notify the
Commissioner of the Revenue, the Department of Motor
Vehicles, and the Department of Game and Inland
Fisheries immediately when items are sold, junked or
moved out of York County (providing the effective date);
when your mailing address changes; or when you move.

Moving Vehicle(s) Out of State — Virginia requires
that, when moving a vehicle out of state, proof of
registration in the new state must be provided before
proration will be considered. Proration may be based upon
the date registered in the new state.

Proration — Personal Property Tax — York County
prorates personal property tax. On 3/19/2013, the York
County Board of Supervisors passed Ordinance 13-3
requiring all personal property be prorated (motor vehicles,
boats, recreational vehicles, etc.). A prorated tax is based
on the number of months owned in York County for the
applicable tax year.

Personal Property Tax Relief Act (PPTRA) — The
Personal Property Tax Relief Act provides tax relief for
passenger cars, motorcycles, and pickup or panel trucks
having a registered gross weight of less than 10,001
pounds. To qualify, a vehicle must: 1) be owned by an
individual or leased by an individual under a contract
requiring the individual to pay the personal property taxes;
AND 2) be used less than 50% for business purposes.
Motor homes, trailers and farm-use vehicles do not qualify
for tax relief.

Vehicle Tax Relief Percentage — The percentage of
tax relief will be determined annually and will be applied to
the first $20,000 value of each qualifying vehicle.

Vehicle Registration Fees — Vehicle Registration Fees
are combined with the 1st half Personal Property Tax bills,
due by June 25th or within 30 days of supplemental bill
date.

Military Exemption (Non-Virginia Residents)

— The Servicemembers’ Civil Relief Act exempts active
duty military personnel from personal property tax in a
state they are not a resident. In order for the property to be
exempt, each person whose name is indicated on the
registration must supply a copy of the Leave and Earnings
Statement (LES) for the applicable period.

Spouses of Military Servicemembers — Under the
federal Military Spouses Residency Relief Act, spouses of
military servicemembers may be eligible for personal
property tax exemption on items registered in their names
only or jointly with their servicemember-spouse, provided
they meet certain qualifying conditions.

Military — VA Residents — All vehicles registered in
Virginia and owned by a military individual(s) who claims
Virginia as their legal state of residence are subject

to personal property tax on vehicles registered in VA,
regardless of where the vehicle is physically located.
Proration will be based on the date registered in the new
state.

Military Retirees — Once the military person retires,
personal property will be subject to a prorated tax as of the
retirement date on the Form DD214. **Please Note — A
copy of the Form DD214 must be filed with the office of
Clerk of the Circuit Court (757) 890-3350.

Disabled Veterans — Veterans who have been certified
by the Department of Veterans Services to have a service-
related total and permanent disability may qualify for a
reduced tax rate for personal property tax on one vehicle.
To qualify, veterans must submit documents to the
Commissioner of the Revenue from the Department of
Veterans Services indicating such disability. Veterans must
provide a written statement indicating the vehicle primarily
used or, if DMV issued DAV plates, that vehicle will be
used.

Business Personal Property Tax Returns

File by March 1 — must be filed on or before March

1st each year and report all property used in the trade

or business (such as furniture, fixtures, equipment,
machinery and tools) owned on January 1. Failure to file
or filing late will result in a late or non-filing penalty of 10%
($10.00 minimum, not to exceed the amount of tax).

Real Estate — All real estate is subject to taxation, except
that which is specifically exempted by the Code of Virginia.
New construction and/or improvements will be assessed
on a prorated basis. Property is assessed to the owner(s)
as of January 1. If there is a change of billing address, or
any other change pertaining to your taxes, please notify the
Commissioner of the Revenue at (757) 890-3382.

Tax Relief for the Elderly and Disabled

File by April 1 — If you are age 65 or older, or 100%
disabled on January 1 of the tax year; earn less than
$50,000 in income from all sources (if totally and
permanently disabled, income limitations are different) and
have less than $200,000 in net worth, you may be entitled
to an exemption or partial exemption on your Real Estate
Tax or Mobile Home Tax (other consideration may apply).
Applications are mailed in February each year and must be
filed on or before April 1 annually.

Veteran Exemption in Real Estate for 100%
Service Related Permanent and Totally Disabled —
The Constitution of Virginia, Article X, Section 6A exempts
tax on real estate owned and occupied by any veteran

(or jointly owned with their legal spouse) who has been
determined by the United States Department of Veterans
Affairs to have a 100% service-connected, permanent and
total disability. An application and a copy of the certification
from the Department of Veterans Affairs must be filed with
the Commissioner of the Revenue by April 1st annually.
Certain restrictions and conditions may apply.

General Reassessment - All real estate in York County
is assessed every two years by the Real Estate
Assessment Office. You may access real estate property
information online by visiting their website at www.
yorkcounty.gov; click on “County Services” and select
“Real Estate Assessment”.






