Youth Commission


The York County Youth Commission (YCYC) serves as a communications link between the youth of York County and the Board of Supervisors by researching and presenting student issues, problems, needs, ideas and suggestions. The YCYC also makes recommendations regarding programs provided to youth, and participates in their establishment when appropriate.  Service on the YCYC increases members' knowledge of local government and provides opportunities for leadership skills development and close teamwork with other students from across the county.

For high school students (grades 9-12) residing in York County.  Members of the current 2018-2019 York County Youth Commission (YCYC) were appointed on May 1, 2018 by the Board of Supervisors.  Their term runs from July 1, 2018 through June 30, 2019 (they attend only one early June 2018 Board of Supervisors meeting).  Monthly meetings with the full commission are scheduled from Sept. through May (smaller sub-committee meetings scheduled as needed).   

CHAIRMAN: Anna Vargas
VICE CHAIRMAN: Camryn Camarata
SECRETARY: Aidan Quick


Name District School
Joselyn Jones District 1 Bruton High School
Wei Li District 1
Bruton High School
Maximus Xo District 1 Homeschool
Camryn Camarata District 2
Grafton High School
Kylie Sommer-Kohrt District 2 Grafton High School
Krupa Patel District 2 Grafton High School
Landyn Kopczynski District 3
York High School
Emily Lopez District 3 York High School
Joseph O'Brien District 3 York High School
Skyla Bailey District 4
York High School
Aidan Quick District 4 Grafton High School
Jacob Rizzio District 4 York High School
Emma Donatelli District 5
Tabb High School
Leilani JeanMarie Gantt District 5 Tabb High School
Anna Vargas District 5 Tabb High School


The Youth Commission is made up of 15 high school students, 3 from each election district. Members must be residents of York County and enrolled in grades 9 through 12 in a public, private or home school.


In an effort to gain student input, the YCYC conducts student surveys and hosts annual Town Hall Meetings in the high schools each spring where students can meet in a face to face setting with a member of the Board of Supervisors and a member of the School Board to ask questions. Finally, the YCYC performs and/or sponsors various service projects throughout the year and helps organize and/or publicize countywide high school social events to help build a sense of community among all students living here.


The Youth Commission was established by the Board of Supervisors in 1983 and is governed by a set of bylaws. For more information view the Youth Commission Bylaws (PDF).


  • Monthly September through May 6 to no later than 8 p.m. 
  • 2nd Tuesday or 2nd Wednesday of every month (Determined by Commission at the beginning of the year)
  • Public Safety Building Meeting Room
    301 Goodwin Neck Road
    Yorktown, VA 23692