State Income Tax
State Tax Returns
Virginia Individual Income Tax returns must be filed annually on or before May 1. However, there is no penalty for refund returns filed after the due date. It is the responsibility of the Commissioner of the Revenue's Office to review and process individual state tax returns for York County residents. Each return is reviewed for completeness and accuracy. Taxpayers are notified of any errors or omissions and allowed to correct these errors before the returns are forwarded to the Virginia Department of Taxation, which may prevent having to file an amended return later.
The staff will complete Virginia Individual Income Tax Returns for York County residents who visit the office with a complete copy of their Federal Income Tax return. There is no charge and no appointment is necessary. If you need forms or assistance, you may call our office at 757-890-3381 or you may contact the Department of Taxation at 804-367-8031.
Free Income Tax Return Preparation for Qualifying Taxpayers
Taxpayers with low- or moderate-income may qualify for free help filing their tax returns. There are more than 12,000 community-based sites with over 90,000 volunteers participating in the Volunteer Income Tax Assistance and Tax Counseling for the Elderly programs. To determine if you would qualify for this assistance and find locations near you, please use the VITA/TCE Site Locator on the IRS.gov website or the IRS2Go mobile app.
- Effective January 1, 2016, the Commonwealth will no longer issue tax refunds on pre-paid debit cards. Refunds will be issued by check or as a direct deposit into a bank account. Please note, any previously debit cards issued over the past 3 years with a balance is still valid and may be used for up to 5 years. For questions regarding these cards, please contact the Go Program at 1-855-409-0580. For additional information regarding the debit card elimination, please visit the Virginia Department of Taxation's website.
- Effective July 1, 2015, the Virginia Department of Taxation will begin charging $5 for each copy of a previously filed tax return. For more information, please refer to their Copies of Returns page.
- Due to required budget reductions, live chat is no longer available on the Virginia Department of Taxation's website.
Estimated Income Tax
FILING REQUIREMENTS - INDIVIDUALS
If your Virginia income tax liability, after subtracting income tax withheld and any allowable credits, is expected to be more than $150, then you must make estimated tax payments or have additional income tax withheld throughout the year from your wages or other income.
You must pay at least 90% of your tax liability during the year by having income tax withheld and/or making timely payments of estimated tax.
FARMERS, FISHERMAN and MERCHANT SEAMAN
If you file your 2018 income tax return on or before March 1, 2019, and pay the entire tax at that time, you are not required to file Form 760ES for 2018.
WHEN TO FILE
Make estimated payments online or file Form 760ES Payment Voucher 1 by May 1, 2018. Estimated income tax payments must be made in full on or before May 1, 2018, or in equal installments on or before May 1, 2018, June 15, 2018, September 15, 2018 and January 15, 2019.
WHERE TO FILE
eForms: File and pay your estimated tax online using the Department of Taxation's eForm. Simply complete the online version of the Form 760ES by entering the tax information as you would if you were completing a paper form. Payments are made electronically and you may schedule payments to be made on a future date. To file your estimated tax online, click here.
Mail: You may send your first voucher and payment directly to the Commissioner of the Revenue, P.O. Box 90, Yorktown, VA, 23690-0090, and all subsequent vouchers and payments to the Treasurer, P.O. Box 251, Yorktown, VA, 23690-0251. Or you may file with the Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 1478, Richmond, VA, 23218. For 2018 estimated vouchers, click here.
If you need forms or assistance, you may call our office at 757-890-3381, contact the Department of Taxation at 804-367-8031, or go to the Department of Taxation website.