Court Security

About the Division

The Civil/Court Security Division is located at the York County/City of Poquoson Courthouse. The division is composed of 1 Captain, 1 lieutenant, 2 sergeants/chief bailiffs, 3 civil process deputies, 10 courthouse/security deputies and 1 secretary. The duties of these deputies are divided into 2 distinctive areas of responsibility, courthouse security and civil process.

Courtroom Security Responsibilities

The bailiffs and courthouse security deputies are directly responsible for the security of the judges, maintaining order in the 5 courtrooms located in the courthouse. Their duties include monitoring video cameras strategically placed throughout the building, guarding of prisoners who have been brought to the courthouse for trial, monitoring and controlling the numerous security doors throughout the building which are locked and unlocked with electronic locks, and manning the metal detectors at the entrance to the building. Most of these duties are carried out from a control room in a secure area of the building.